Nowadays many business meetings and training are happening online and not in real offices. Do you think advantages outweigh the disadvantages in this matter?

As the speed of the Internet has increased, more sophisticated applications of such as video conference has become more practical than ever. Many companies started recruiting employees who work remotely in different cities or across the ocean and use video conference for any discussion during the work. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this technology and how it affects people working life.

Online conferences bring many benefits to a business. Firstly, it allows a meeting to happen whenever everyone is ready without the need to look for an available room. Everyone can join a meeting from home or another convenient place while the company is only need smaller meeting rooms which cost less. The technology can also be used in a very large scale such as company wide conference which thousands of people can simultaneously join without the need of an expensive large meeting hall. Online meeting also comes with an additional benefit that allows video recording to happen easily which other employees who misses the meeting can recapture the content later.

Every technology always comes with limitations or trade-offs. The technology heavily relies on the Internet which has limited bandwidth, the quality of the meeting can be as bad as the bandwidth available. In worst case, people might be unable to communicate at all and the whole meeting could collapse. Furthermore, it is much harder to have a deep discussion that needs everyone to draw something on a whiteboard. Lastly, it is very easy for attendances to be distracted because they can move away from the screen at their convenience.

In summary, online meetings bring new opportunities and possibilities to businesses. The right usage brings profit to the company; however, there are some caveats that come with this technology and the company must know that an online meeting is not the best solution for every problem. Sometimes, it is best to have face-to-face meeting which people can express their feeling, and have a business lunch.