Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Technological gadgets are becoming increasingly popular, allowing children to spend a significant amount of time on the computer by playing various games. However, this is mainly happening because of the highly addictive nature of games, and I firmly believe that it has undoubtedly negative development on children.

Although playing games offers positive benefits like improvements in cognitive abilities and gaming skills, these advantages often lead children to spend considerable time on the computer screen. These games are so interesting that children always feel they play continuously. As a result, this addictive behaviour always leads them to stay on video games, adversely affecting their mental health. Moreover, children deliberately forget about social and academic life when they are too involved with online games.

There are several downsides commonly associated with some children spending maximum time on website games. One of the major concerns is that these games significantly affect the academic performance of primary students. Due to game addiction, they cannot concentrate on their education, which often leads them to fail formal examinations. Another problem connected with children is that it is detrimental to one's health. In other words, spending excessive time on computer screens strains children's eyes, and these games bring severe health issues such as insomnia, depression and anxiety. For example, children who play games cannot sleep well, which will change their behaviour, eventually not engaging socially with parents.

In conclusion, while games positively affect children, health problems and poor academic performance are crucial factors to state that this is an overall negative development. However, if parents put strict supervision on children, computer games will have a positive influence on them.