Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over-enthusiastic parents, which can have negative impacts on the child.

Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school?

What do you think the role of parents should be in their child’s education?

In the modern era, children get no motivation from their parents to perform at school, whereas others argue that some parents apply excessive pressure on their children to perform well. While both sides have positive and negative perspectives, If parents provide better support and guidance, children will excel in school. This essay will discuss about the parental role in children’s education.

To begin with, parents are not encouraging children for their academic performance in inappropriate situations in many countries. This happens because both parents spend their time at work or offices, so they are unaware of the children’s behaviour. After spending significant time at work, parents do not ask their children about the day at school; however, they simply concentrate on their careers. Consequently, this leads to poor performance of students in primary school, and because of that, they fail poorly. Moreover, many parents compare their children with other pupils, which results in poor academic achievement, and eventually fall into health and mental problems such as depression or anxiety. In addition, some high pressure from parents also negatively affects students’ brains. Therefore, parents must look for children’s health and mental stability.

Providing support to one’s children is a vital responsibility for parents as this helps them to behave effectively in school. If parents are working every day, it is essential that they ask children during dinner about their studies. That way, students might feel considerable interest in school, which enhances the efficiency of children in academic assessments. Also, this keeps them out of the mental disorders. For example, in Western countries, parents drop off and pick up children from school, and during commuting, they ask about the day at school. Moreover, parents should consider not only the success of their child but also better health as an essential factor for academic success, which depends on whether they provide relevant support.

In conclusion, to reiterate, I believe that showing no encouragement and applying an enormous burden on children leads to depression and anxiety; thus, it is essential that parental involvement in children’s behaviour and significant time with them for their well-being and academic success.