Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child. Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child’s education?

Parents play a vital role in the growth and prosperity of a child. While some parents are not involved with their offspring’s, others are intimidated to score better grades in school. This essay will delve the possible reasons that why some parents over value academic performance before drawing a conclusion.

It’s irrefutable, that parents lay the foundation stone for children which help them to move on the path of success. They expect future prosperities of their children, which is the major reason for this issue. To cite an example, parents know that excellent education is correlated with brilliant jobs; hence, they force their offspring’s to work hard. Moreover, some parents try to achieve their unfulfilled ambitions through their children and many people fail to live their dream life because they did not work hard. They know the consequences, so they pressurize their children to work hard and achieve what they have failed in.

On the other hand, the role of the parents is manifold. They should try to equip children with well-round perspective of life. To raise intimacy, they should show interest in their educational and recreational endeavors. By understanding their thoughts and ambitions, it is easier to persuade them than to force them to do what they do not want. Moreover, they should try to boost the moral and imaginative skills of their children, which can inculcate better intellectual skills among them. They should be allowed to do what they like the most, but under the supervision of the parents. To exemplify, children should be deterred to play video games; instead, they should be encouraged to do extracurricular activities such as plays a sport or learning an instrument, which can be advantageous.

A close analysis of the matter leads to a conclusion that, parenting style should rely on empathy not pressure and academic performance should not be overrated.