Nowadays more and more older people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problem does this cause? What are the possible solutions?

It is undeniable true that the job markets has been witnessing an imbalance between young and old job seekers. This scenario leads to an increasing number of experienced people competing with fresh graduates for the same employment. This essay will explore the negative effects caused by this situation with some suggestions to alleviate the potential problems.

To commence with, there are several issues among elder job seekers who have to compete with younger workforce. Especially when there is an era of technology advancement. Fresher candidates are well-equipped with the knowledge of the latest modern machinery whereas old workers are familiar with only few traditional working skills. For example, nowadays in manufacturing industry there is quite common use of new machinery like CNC and VMC. However, these machines can be very tough to operate for old people who are the unaware of these modern changes which can affect the efficiency of the firm. Moreover, young workers can be hired at very low wages which is becoming difficult for the experienced employers to resist in this competition of job seeking.

On the other hand, to address the problem one of the most effective solutions would be to increase the job vacancies which could benefit both generations. Secondly, governments should encourage self-employment for the fresh graduates, so that young people can get employment. For instance, in countries like China authorities provide policies and schemes that would assist young individuals to open its own business. Besides this, administration should guarantee pension schemes in all private and government sectors for elderly people.

To conclude, although competition between both age groups will continue to be more intense, however some steps at the government and individual level can help to lessen the severity of the situation.