Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In a large number of countries, it can be noticed that students who choose science subject as a major, are not adequate. this essay aims to investigate the factors that lead to this situation. secondly, what impact it has on the society, followed by the reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, there are several rationales to showing disinterest in science subject by the student. On the first hand, science subjects, being a high level of difficulty, requires a lot of diligence, hard work, as well as a great deal of patience and intelligence. For instance, courses such as biology, chemistry, and physics demands critical thinking along with commitment to the study. Moreover, these subject are time-consuming and challenging, as one have to perform lots of experiments, projects and a lot of research. which in a way discourage students and they tend to select other subjects as a major, to run away from the long hours of labs. secondly, such a subject because of their complexity are extremely competitive and usually have strict academic requirement, so getting into them is not an easy task. Consequently, only a few fraction could make it.

getting down to the impact of shortage of science learners on the society. it could have detrimental effects on the society. Firstly, it will lead to an imbalance in the future workforce as when other subjects, viz. law, business, and economy will become prevalent, hence, causing scarcity of human resource. Furthermore, fewer scientists will lead to fewer technological developments. Thereupon, it would prevent further innovations and improvements in the way of living of the people.

To conclude, students because of the difficulty of the field are reluctant to choose that subject which can hinder the nation by moving forward in science and technology.