Nowadays not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

At present, tertiary education has become indispensable tool among all nations to cope with competitive job market. However, selection of Science related courses when pursuing their degrees, is not as popular as it used to be few decades ago. Possible causes of this would be limited number of jobs and high workload in Science field whereas other fields such as Information Technology (IT) growing faster. Owing to this, future generation might face several problems like mobility of society for jobs as discussed here.

From my perspective, one of the most possible reason behind this would be availability of less number of professions in Science field. Even though, a student, for example, with higher grades in Advanced level could select to be a doctor, while, others bio-science graduates do not have assurance of getting a particular job. Due to prevailing competition in job market, employees employers are recruiting more creative fresh graduates who has done art subjects or techno-savvy graduates rather than searching for Scientific knowledge. In addition, students who has followed IT courses has job- security since technology is now using in almost all fields including medical, business and banking field. This might have affected on adolescent when choosing their academic career.

Another major contributing factor for growing unpopularity for Science courses may be due to increasing trend on online courses. Because, teaching Science over distance learning method is undoubtedly impossible since it requires so many practicals or laboratory activities. Consequently, children follow management or IT courses via internet than ever before. Moreover, they do not demand higher commitment than Science subjects.

Among multifarious results of this trend, main impact on society would be less number of doctors or scientists in future. If this continues, eventually, new inventions will be a dream for the world. For instance,for a fast growing societies, introduction of new medicines,vaccines as well as new plant and animal breeds are vital to maintain food security and keep up healthy society.

Further effect of this issue can be 'brain drain'. Because, once the number of graduates in same field getting higher in a country, it is more likely to migrate in search of jobs. Ont he top of it, developed countries often welcome fresh graduates with IT degrees as they can employ them for a lower wage. To make matters worse, countries like Newzeland, for example, nowadays do not sponsor Science or agricultural science graduates and, instead, accountants and IT specialists are their in skill shortage list. Hence, youngsters tend to follow those degrees sacrificing their desires to become scientists or researches.

In conclusion, higher demand for IT or commerce professionals seems to be adversely affect on student's interest on Science courses. As a result, new invention in future might be highly affected and educated people are likely to migrate developed countries leaving their home countries with unskilled workforce. Introduction of attractive remuneration packages and job prospects in Science field would be good remedy for this problem, so that, children might be willing to attend Science courses in third level education.