nowadays shops have extended opening hours almost every day of the week in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development for shoppers and the local community?

These days in many parts of the world the stores has been opened for extended hours almost every day of the week. Although it may have few adverse effects on the personal life of the owner, but in my point of view, overall it will be beneficial for both customers and society.

To embark with, there are many compelling reasons to believe that twenty-four hours a week retail store provide many benefit to the customer. Primarily, as a result of globalization, more and more people have begun to work remotely. Since this implies that they have flexible working hours, it could also be derived that they might often end up working at unconventional times of the day. Therefore, there is a shift in the timing that these professionals tend to devote to shopping. Hence, shops staying open throughout a week is a blessing for the service class people. Extended opening hours will definitely help to cater the customer needs more efficiently.

Furthermore, increase in opening timing has significant important for community growth. As sellers profit will be grow and they will be paying more taxes to the government, which can be used by the local authorities for various community development activities. Government plan the budget for every financial year and allot expenditure to different areas according to income received from different sources and tax is one of the major sources of income. Another advantage is an increase in the employment opportunities. Longer working hours would cause a requirement for more staff, thereby creating more job opportunities, For instance, employee are working in night shifts, so many will be able to find the job, thereby living standards will grow.

To recapitulate, opening hours of retail outlets are increasing in the current years and in my viewpoint, it also assist the local community to develop in many ways and contribute to the economy. Customers are also getting benefit from this trend with convenient timing for shopping.