Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, advances in technology have allowed government, the police and privately owned companies to keep the public under constant surveillance. Not always citizens can imagine that their movements and cellphone calls are watched and listened. I consider that this development can bring about more problems for people compared any advantages it might bring.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of monitoring by security cameras and tracking cellphones. In areas where there a high crime rate, the use of security cameras may act as a deterrent to criminals: if they can see a camera, they may think twice about breaking into building or stealing a car. If a crime is carried out, then a camera may provide useful evidences. The same is true for a cellphone the police sometimes rely on call logs to help them trace whereabouts of suspects or victims.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe people could face serious drawbacks from being monitored. One potentially dangerous problem is that in countries where human rights are ignored, the use of security cameras or listening devices may be harmful to society. People should be able to hold meetings and express their opinions without being invaded. Another obvious issue is that nowadays many people upload personal information and photographs onto social networking sites. They often do not realize how easy it is for other people to view this information or for the criminals to use the data or photographs for their own financial gain.

In conclusion, it seems inevitably that there will be more and more ways to monitor society in the future. However, it is evident that human freedom outweighs any of the minor benefits that could results people being monitored.