Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

With advancement in technology, there has been a drastic transformation in the way people communicate with each other. Many people believe that technology has negative impact on relationships, however, the positive aspect of technology cannot be denied.

It is an undeniable fact that technology has made human life easier. Firstly, with mobile phones and internet, people can connect with anyone instantly. Services such as Skype ,Whatsapp etc have open new opportunities of doing business globally, without even travelling. For example, people can send pictures of the sample to their clients over Whatsapp messenger or even do a video call to clear their queries. Secondly, technology has opened new possibilities for students to study from home. For instance, many universities have launched distant learning programs in which a student can have a one on one session with teachers without physically present at the university.

Nevertheless, the modern way of interaction has some negative implications as well. The availability of new communication technologies have resulted in, isolating people and discouraging real interaction. For example, many young people choose to make friends online rather than mixing with their peers in the real world, and these ‘virtual’ relationships are a poor substitute for real friendships. Furthermore, the authenticity of the person on the social sites is always questionable and can result into cyber crimes . For example, any Tom, Dick and Harry can make a fake profile on social network sites such a Facebook or Instagram and send you a friend request.

In conclusion, technology has certainly revolutionised communication between people, but not all the outcomes of this revolution have been positive.