Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what way has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development.

Modern technology has vastly changed the way people connect with each other. This essay will suggest that technology makes distant relationships possible and this development is positive because it saves people a huge amount of times.

High-tech devices and online platforms will keep the relationships between couples and family members, who live separately in different countries, going. This is to say that the relationships between people will fade out when they do not communicate often, therefore, new technologies will allow individuals to stay connected with their loved ones more regularly and prevent relationships from being broken. For example, a survey by the University of Social Science in Ho Chi Minh City showed that 65% of exchanged students from Cambodia said they had strong distant relationships with their boyfriends and girlfriends at home thanks to daily communication on Facetime.

This is a highly positive development because technologies help people save a lot of time by removing the time required for traveling. In the past, people would have to travel from one place to another when they wanted to see someone in person. Now, people only have to take a few seconds to make video calls with the help of smartphones and they will see the faces of others just like in real life. For instance, instead of taking 5-hour flights from Vietnam to Korea, parents can see their children’s faces by using video calls on Skype or Facebook and this process only takes about three seconds.

In conclusion, today’s advanced technology brings people closer together regardless of any distance and keep their relationships strong while saving them a lot of time.