Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In 21st century, everyone is running behind money without worrying about environment. As nations are growing and technologies are developing, people are generating as much as waste they can. This essay will discuss the reasons behind production of waste in higher quantities and steps which government can take to decrease the amount of rubbish.

There are several reasons which are leading to more waste. One of them is industrialization as many industries are establishing across the nations. These growing companies are manufacturing products to meet their demand without analyzing the material and process. For example, Niagara Bottling, a US based company is using plastics in water bottles which cannot be recycled and need to be thrown away after single use. Another reason is lack of policies and strict implementation of laws. To illustrate, China has banned the use of plastic bags across the country. But still, local retailers and supermarkets are not using paper bags. Consumption of plastic bags add a lot of waste to environment. Hence, a greater number of industries and loopholes in existing policies around the nations are generating huge waste.

Nevertheless, there are many measurements which can espouse government to reduce waste disposal. Firstly, government can provide tax benefits to employers and local people if they use biodegrade materials or produce less waste on annual basis. Another step which government can take is to work on existing policies and improve current system to execute. Government can restructure the policy to ban plastic products by increasing penalty or fines. For instance, many nations have audit department to visit local shopkeepers and closed markets. If they find any retailers who is not using cloth or paper bags, then they file a complaint against them and put them behind the bars. Overall, government need to be strict in implementing legislation for plastic products and provide some benefits to curtail waste.

In conclusion, growth of industries and lack of strict laws are two main reasons which are increasing waste in the eco-system. If government follow the recommended remedies then production of rubbish can be reduced.