Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been a debatable topic for lot of people that organisations seek personal details for an employment opportunity may or may not be related to job posting. This essay will throw a light on both sides of the notion along-with my perspective.

There are many reasons why companies ask about a candidate personal interest. One of them is to understand the soft skills and team player's qualities in a job applicant. Another reason is to get an idea about how much a candidate is responsible in personal life towards family and whether they will be able to relocate or travel as per job requirements. As per statistics, people who are married are hesitant to travel if it more than twenty-five percent. Another example, Forbes magazine published an article that applicants who have interests towards sports posses team player qualities and ready to take challenges on different projects. Hence, it is quite reasonable to ask personal information for a job.

On the other hand, many people have disagreement on this belief as they think that a candidate technical knowledge and skills are more relatable to inquire. Companies should request applicants only about their past job experience and how logically they have performed on different project tasks in their jobs. To illustrate, KPMG, a consultancy company ask candidates to share details about the jobs where they have shown different qualities such as collaboration, coordination a, verbal ability, strategic thinking and logical reasoning. Therefore, if employers will ask more job experience based questions then will get more meaningful information about applicants.

In conclusion, many people think that personal data help company to sort candidates who also pursue non-technical skills and have good behavioral qualities; whereas some argue that only useful information is to inquire job experience as it tells about a person experience on multiple job experience and ability to manage job in efficient way. In my opinion, companies should ask about job experience as it helps to understand company whether a person is a right match for job or not.