In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Some people are calling into question whether big shopping malls are a threat to local retailers. It has been often observed that development of shopping centers have shut small shops as people opt to shop in the malls. This essay will analyze if this change has benefits or drawbacks.

Growth of big shopping malls have a positive outcome. As customers feel convenient to shop at one place instead of shopping at multiple shops. For example, people can buy from clothes to shoes at one place. Shopping centers have provided one platform to shop different products. People can buy grocery and electronic under one roof. This change has made customers life easy and has reduced their time to travel from one shop to another.

Another benefit of big shopping malls in comparison to small shops is that they bring more number of jobs. These malls hire hundreds of people to manage different services. For instance, they employ more sales persons due to large number of brands in one location. As per statistics, shopping centers have increased 10 percent jobs in marketing and sales. They help famous brands to develop in new countries. To illustrate, India’s Grauda Mall contributes almost 20 percent in growth of international brand such as Aldo and Tommy Hilfiger in India.

There are some detrimental impacts of these shopping malls. They discourage small businesses to grow and destroy their position in the market. That leads small shops to close. Although these malls have increased employment across the world, they have inflated the costs of living for common people. For instance, China observed huge inflation due to increase in number of malls.

To close, it is a positive change for society with few negative aspects.