Nowadays young people know less about traditions and culture than in the past. What are the reasons for it? Is this a positive development or a negative development?

There is no doubt that, culture and traditions play vital role in overall development of adolescents. I believe having less knowledge of culture and traditions than in the past is positive development. In this essay, I will give reasons for it and explain my support to the positive side.

To begin with, one of the primary reason for less knowledge of heritage is media. In other words, influence of media has a great impact on youngsters’ life as they try to mimic foreign culture. For instance, because of television and other media, foreign people learn about yoga from India which can help them to stay healthy. I believe, this is a positive development because people learn about new culture and traditions which can increase knowledge of individuals. As a result of this, people learn to give respect to the other culture.

Additionally, education system also play crucial role for the less knowledge of customs. The reason for this is that, schools and universities focus on academic and career oriented subjects so that students can get better professional job. In my view, this is practical approach because in order to get lucrative job, awareness of practical subjects is necessary. For example, a person who is tech-savvy and has more understanding of technology might get well-paid job rather that a person who has more knowledge about ethics.

In conclusion, even if communication technology and education system play important role in less understanding of customs, I opine that this is a positive development as this help young people to value other culture and focus on practical subjects.