As the number of private cars has increased, so too has the level of pollution in many cities. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

Air pollution is one of the major concerns in the world right now and it has been evident that private cars contribute a large portion to it. Protecting the environment either from global warming or from pollutions is in anyone hand and I shall discuss my views on tackling this issue.

Citizens of many countries over-relied on cars by considering the expenses of public transport. So, it is the time for bureaucrats to come front and to reduce the fares of public transport. This move could encourage the public to commute by buses or trains rather in cars. On top of this, the network of public transport has to be extending to both rural areas and suburbs too. On the other hand, daily work commuters could use the flexibility of car-pooling technique if they wish to travel only in cars. This could drastically reduce the pollution level. To make this happen, I suggest to the organization to conduct weekly awareness sessions within the company.

We now have sophisticated technology available and that lead to the invention of electric cars. Government and electric cars manufacturers should start giving subsidy to the buyers of electric cars. By promoting these kinds of cars can reduce the carbon-dioxide levels in the environment. Like the gas stations, electric charging points should be made available throughout the country.

Apart from these, engineers and scientist can use the latest technology to re-modify the existing car engines, so that it emulates less pollution.

To conclude, dealing with air pollution is in the hands of every human being and we should start looking at other alternative approaches rather using private cars. Improved public transport, car-pooling and electron cars are few of them. In order to reduce the levels of pollution, both government and citizens should work hand in hand.