old freind vs. new freind

The time one spends with other people is one the most crucial periods in the life; as communicating leads one to learn lots of diverse experiences and shape the ensuing life; hence, one of the highly controversial issues among many individuals is to stay with older friends vs. making new friends. As far as I am concerned, in a state of ambivalence, I might lean to be with older friends. Ostensibly, some people believe that we should find new friends, however, many reasons can declare the higher beneficiary of keeping older friends. I will interpret my response in the following essay.

First, strong relationships with others are an advantage for individuals because strong bonds include valuable interactions. Doubtlessly, such interactions help to broaden the mind and learn divergent believes. Consequently, this will enrich one’s personality. To build strong bonds one needs to learn many aspects of other person; aspects such as the behaviour, family relationships, favourites, etc. which can not be learned in a brief time. Granted all this little information contributes to the strength of a relation, but short relation cannot provide them. As an illustrative example, some years ago, during my high school time at the Beheshty high school in Iran, there was a girl, called Sara, Sara had allergy to mango. Sara’s new friend held a party for her birthday, serving a mango cake, not knowing about the possible-allergic reaction. In the beginning, everyone thought this would be fantastic party but this was not true. Unfortunately, Sara had to go to hospital upon eating the cake, and it was her worst birthday. The girl was not angry, given the explanation, but the bond between them did not become strong. As one can see, to make strong relations, one needs much information about friends and information obtainment associate with the time.

Second, with a longer time to spend with a person, you share more memories. One cannot start talking about the shared childhood memories upon seeing a new person. Most of the time we talk about our memories with our friends; without such kind of memories, it would be hard to find a topic to make more memories. For example, some years ago, my sister invited her friend home to spend a night with her. That night they slept sooner than us, as they had nothing to talk about. So, to improve the relationship with someone one needs to share memories and therefore spend much time with that person.

Third, older friends tend to be more reliable. When we have problems, we prefer to consult with somebody known for a long time. This happens because we can rely on their honesty and help. For instance, when I have some academic problem and I need someone to consult, the first person I am thinking of is my oldest friend. Therefore, we need reliable friends, and most of the times they are our oldest friends.

I am of the conviction that the older friend is better; because we make strong bonds, have many shared memories and rely on them the most, but it would not harm to make new friends. So, I mainly suggest keeping our old friends, while making new friends occasionally. The effect of my solution would be that we have the benefits of our older companions while gaining new experience, but if not possible, for the aforementioned reasons, I conclude that a longer relationship, with an older friend, is a better choice.