In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

it is often argued that governments should increase the rate of tax on vehicles drivers in order to tackle the traffic issue and use this money to make public transport better. this essay will consider the benefits and drawbacks of such a measure.

one of the main benefits of charging personal car owners with a high tax rate is to discourage them from using their vehicles. Since it can be expensive for citizens to pay, they would use public transportation or bikes for traveling instead. Thus, the number of cars owners will decrease and traffic congestion will slowly decline. Another key advantage is improving the transportation system. For example, the state could use this fund to replace all the old trains and buses with the new ones, which consume fuel efficiently and more comfortable for passengers. this means increasing the number of people who will use transportation.

Despite these clear benefits, there are also some drawbacks. Firstly, many people have no choice but to drive every day as they live in areas which are not covered by public transportation such as rural areas or countryside. Therefore, if governments impose a higher tax, locals might face financial crisis. In addition, as the demand for motor vehicle decreases due to the high tax, many automobiles companies would cut their employment number. As a consequence, the country unemployment rate would be high.

To sum up, it is clear that while this policy has positives impacts, it has also some negative implications on people.