Organized tour to remote communities and other countries is becoming increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times touring companies have become much more eminent than ever in the past. Arranging tours to other countries as well as to distant areas. The trend has pros as well as cons associated to it. In the following lines, I will be discussing the same with few examples.

Primarily, organised tours to common tourist attractions and newly explored distant areas is a prevailing trend in developed as well as in developing countries. In my view this approach to tourism has come leaps and bounds as it is safer and secure way to tourism, which provides better expedition opportunities to the travelers. The increase in tourism to remotest of areas is a prime example to show the merits of this change. For instance if we see Pakistan only have seen around 300 % increase in its tourism. The turn around has a lot to do with these new tour operators, areas such as Kund Malir (newly explored hill station in the province of sindh) is a big example. This shift from conventional tourism has also provided great employment opportunities to the local inhabitants of these areas. Places like small villages of Khyber Pakhtunkhua province are also good to mention here, as this arrangement has provided good opportunities to the locals of these areas, these tour operators are somewhat dependent on them as the know their areas better than anyone else.

On the contrary, this new paradigm shift does not come without demerits. For example, on one side of the coin we see good employment opportunities for locals. However, at the same time the local are being exploited by these tour operators as they are employing them on a wage which is quite lower than they used to make while engages in guided tours previously. This causes a lot of unemployment to these local people. If we look at a practical example, in a lot of northern parts of Pakistan locals do complaint about this exploitation and they also stand with the argument that previously tourists used to contact them directly instead of coming through these touring companies. This resorts to their dissatisfaction.

To conclude, tour operators have opened great avenues and made tourism much more secure for everyone. While it also creates plethora of employment opportunities for locals.