Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays, the population in developed areas is increasing day by day hence, some urban areas are suffering from the problem of overpopulation all over the world. This essay not only discusses the reasons behind this but also the measures that can be done to curb this problem.

To being with, the main reason behind the overpopulation of urban areas is migration. The people of undeveloped centres are shifting to developed areas owing to get better jobs and other facilities such as hospitals, elite education and many more. Therefore, they prefer to live in urban areas to secure their future as well as their new generation's. Further, multinational companies offer various jobs with cheap accommodation, which allure new generation more. For instance, a survey conducted by Punjabi University Patiala shows the report that 65% of the total population of the countryside area moved to big cities. Some of them shifted to receive good jobs and others to pursue their higher study in international colleges to get their dream job.

Every problem has seeds of solution within it, likewise, this problem can be solved by implementing various measures. Firstly, the government should open hospitals and educational institutes in remote areas grant similar facilities as urban areas. Secondly, the state authorities should promote multinational companies to open their branches in undeveloped areas. By doing so, the local people in these areas would like to stay in their home towns. Consequently, the native people will avoid moving to big cities. Finally, the government should provide hybrid seed to local farmers, along with this they should supply irrigation facilities and also increase the rate of their crops. Hence, people can obtain enough money to survive in less developed areas.

In conclusion, the shifting of people from remote areas to developed areas is the major cause of overpopulation in urban areas to obtain jobs and complete their higher education in good elite educational institutes. Still, this worrying concern can be tackled by the government to open education institutes, hospitals and encourage international companies to open their branches in undeveloped areas to offer jobs to native people.