A person’s health is their own responsibility rather than the government’s responsibility.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that the onus of keeping oneself fit and health is entirely relying on the shoulder of an individual and the government has nothing to do with it. I partially agree with this statement. Although health is the personal responsibility of a citizen, government certainly also has a big role to play in this regard.

It is the responsibility of central government to provide basic health facilities and sports amenities in order to keep the citizens physically fit and healthy. Firstly, if state provides modern hospitals, people health will be better taken care of. People can consultant with best doctors and take precautions and medicines which will keep their health on track. In addition, the city council can provide sports and fitness centers in each area of the district. When people have these amenities available in their neighborhood, they are more likely to visit there, and work out which will also improve their immune system. Thus, the above measures add value to the well being of individuals.

On the other hand, Individuals must keep themselves physically fit and healthy by taking care of their diet and regular exercise. Nowadays, when most of the high calories products are with in the access of citizens, people tend to overeat which ultimately destroys their health and cause diseases such as diabetes and high cholesterol. Therefore, by education and regular exercise, we can cater the above issues. Firstly, basic nutritional knowledge should be included in the school curriculum so that people can easily differentiate between high calories junk food , such as cold drink and sodas, and healthy food. In addition, people must build a habit of regular exercise of at least half-hour per day. it will not only keep their health on track, but also saves them from possible diseases that comes with the age due to weak immune system.

All in all, citizens health responsibility can be shared between themselves and government. Individual should keep a balance healthy lifestyle, which includes eating healthy food and regular exercise, while government should provide best health amenities , such as state of the art hospitals and fitness centers. When individuals are healthy, they will be a strong nation and working force of a country