A poor infrastructure hinders under-developed countries from progressing and modernizing. Some people think that this should be the first problem tackled by foreign aid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The paucity of resources such as financial aid and development plan are hindering the infrastructure constructions in many of the poor countries. While few individuals feel this should be the fundamental problem solved by foreign investment, this essay will explain why I completely agree with this notion.

To embark on, the cardinal focus of infrastructure development needs to begin with construction of roads. This is because they connect major cities with nearby suburbs and countryside. For instance, if there are good roadways, it will be easy to commute. As a result, trade such as cargo will grow rapidly; generating employment and consistent revenue. Furthermore, there should be more of multi-purpose buildings in major towns and cities. The primary advantages of such buildings are that it creates opportunities to run local businesses or invite global brands to start their franchises, provide leisure and entertainment facilities.

Another pivotal basic structure in any under-developed or developing economies is public transport. This is important because the majority of population in these countries are financially poor. As a consequence, they can not afford to own a private vehicle. Therefore, government should attract foreign direct investments to construct and operate transport systems like metro rail, trams, and tubes in collaboration with central government. Moreover, to a certain extent, foreign investments should be permitted in real estate for construction of basic housing, which improves the quality of life index of a country.

In conclusion, from my perspective, foreign capital should be encouraged in poor countries for development of infrastructure such as road ways, multi-utility buildings, public transportation - by investing in metros and trams, and to a possible limit in real estate as well. Due to this, a country's infrastructure can be enhanced to improve overall standard of living.