The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last twenty

years. Many of the problems young people now experience, such as juvenile

delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Today, women are considered as strong and capable as men – be it in entertainment industry, software industries or sports. The question is, are the teenagers impacted negatively due to their working mothers?

Off late, the state of women has improved largely and rapidly due to number of reasons. Firstly, unlike old times, both the son and the daughter are treated equally in a family. This has led to provision of proper and complete education to both the genders as well as equal number of job opportunities. Secondly, today, there is a sense of independence in women since they are earning and do not have to depend on the fathers or the husbands for money or survival. Lastly, even though most married women are working professionals, they are able to manage and afford their children’s education, upbringing, house expenses, and the like, very diligently and responsibly.

Although, this multi-tasking specie tackles everything so efficiently, there may be times when her children, especially teenagers, go out-of-hand and indulge themselves in bad influences and habits – for example drugs, alcohol, stealing, rape, and the like. Most often than not, the mothers are pointed fingers at and blamed for such wrong doings by the society and one often forgets that the responsibility of a child is not just mother’s but father’s too. In addition, the fact that the children may have gotten into such illegal activities through school environment or neighborhood, is completely ignored.

To conclude, claiming that a woman should not be working but should rather take care of her children is a wrong expectation. I believe, both the parents are responsible for the child and his or her well-being, irrespective of whether they are working or stay-at-home parents. It may easily be worked out if both the mother and the father decide mutually and spend equal time and energy in bringing - up their child.