Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Mass media such as television and newspapers are commercialized to an extent that people are losing faith in the integrity of the news published. The News Editors play a crucial role in this aspect as they pick the stories that are only sensational. It leads to broadcasting more negative news such as murders and dacoities.. This trend has to change in order to have a healthy society in the future.

To begin with, It has become quite common now that media is controlled by corporate houses. It is no longer an entity which runs for the welfare of the society or country and profit making has become the sole target. As a result, news editors are left with no choice other than following their promoters orders. This has resulted in broadcasting news items that could sell as hot cakes. This money minded thought process has done more harm than good to the current generation.

On the other hand, People are equally responsible for creation of such a unhealthy environment today. If the people has not fallen for such frivolous news and rejected it, the objective of the industry would have changed a lot better. For example, the news of a murder telecasted with a narration and screenplay equivalent to a short film can be discouraged. The future of the current generation can be shaped efficiently if more positive news and articles are given priority. Therefore, corporate houses and people shall work in tandem to mutually benefit from each other.

Summing up, the stakeholders and promoters should start looking the news industry as a sacred medium to influence and kindle the positivity in the society rather than as a money making entities. Equally, people have a larger role to play in it.