"Prevention is better than cure."

Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, most of the countries spend majority of their funds on health education and also in taking preventive actions, since prevention is better than cure. While some people argue that disadvantages overweigh the arguments, on my point of view I strongly believe in preventive measures.

First and foremost, health education will make awareness on physical and mental fitness of the individuals. For instance, if health education is given at their early childhood, they will get to know about the importance of food pyramid. This move will also encourage them on engage in different extra curricular activities together with sports and physical training. Secondly, physical fitness is directly connected with mental fitness and it will improve the efficiency and effectiveness of individuals, while positively affecting the national income and development as well.

On the other hand, spending on preventive measures would reduce the risk of accidents and it will save lot of money and lives as well. These initiatives would reduce the number of deaths while increasing the life expectancy of the citizens. In fact, health education would decrease the absenteeism in both organizations and schools. The government expenditure on treating diseases such as diabetes, high pressure, and cholestarole will be decrease in the long run.

In conclusion, it is recommended to decide the proportion spent on each segment by the government, irrespective of the changes of the government policies. In order to achieve these goals, governments have to train people and also provide sufficient resources to the schools and relevant authorities. Apart from that, governments also have to maintain their budgets to satisy other requirements such as infrastructure, higher education, research and development in order to achieve sustainable growth of their particular continet.