"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In many countries the major proportion of government funding on health is allocated to treatment and cure rather than preventing the ailment and disease at the first place. this trend has to be certainly reversed to take advantage of the government's expenditure on public health.

First and foremost, the patient flow in the hospitals seem to be ever increasing although in the recent times presence of health facilities and services have increased manifold. this clearly means that in spite of the increasing investment in building hospitals and developing advanced medical technologies, governments have been finding it increasingly difficult to maintain a healthy society. While, such facilities have been providing temporary relief and solace to the public, they are definitely not a long-term solution.

However, providing health education to raise public awareness and inclucate healthy eating habits and lifestyles have been shown to be very effective in preventing people from running into health related problems. In other words, when people know for certain that when they avoid certain food or cultivate healthy eating habits, they are more likely to stay inspired to be healthy. Moreover, when people can complement their wholesome food behavior with regular exercise and fitness regimes, they will no longer need to avail medical services frequently. In public Republic of China and Japan, for example, governments' focus is mainly on public awareness programs and health education which is an excellent example of countries with people who live long without much medical assistance.

To sum up, countries should earmark more budget for public health and health education and not for therapies and treatments. when people understand the benefits of healthy food intake and physical exercise, they will naturally be encouraged to lead a healthier life.