The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Educating parents about constructive ways to raise children is being seen as a significant way of preventing young people from engaging in criminal activities. while parents have a major role in the upbringing and character building of a child, environment outside home to which he is exposed and his own self-discipline also have equally important bearing on his moral behavior and these issues have also got to be addressed.

To begin with, parents definitely have a major influence on the way in which their children behave with others. that is to say, if father reacts positively to what mother has said or done, the infant is more likely to learn from it and replicate while responding when faced with similar social situations. On the other hand, teenagers who are under an aggressive parentage and brought up in a family where conflicts are a commonplace, they might turn to violent ways in their adolescence. A study from Nepal, for example, suggests that more than 50% of criminal activities are carried out by people who grew up in unstable families. Therefore, teaching parents about the good practices of parentage can guide them to create positive environment at home and deter their teens from anti-social behavior.

However, there are other factors that can equally affect a child's psychology and demenaor. Of them all, the type of peer group of which the young children are a part at school or in the neighbourhood is often associated with the type of human being he will eventually become in the future. Moreover, it is the peer pressure which forces even an innocent and a well-groomed young boy or girl to indulge in unwholesome activities like smoking and taking drugs. these external environments are that the parents cannot control and where the young person is in charge himself. Hence, there could be educational programs designed at schools and colleges aimed at edifying children about the right conduct and for encouraging them to partake in healthy group activities. Moreover, every community should have children and youth clubs which should be tasked with the responsibility of building a creative society by taking on board children and youth for social welfare projects which could be preemptive and see off the occurence of any untoward incidents.

In conclusion, instructing parents with good techniques of parenting is useful for their children to learn good ways. However, educational centres and communities also have to be involved for children to become good citizens and keep them from offending.