Big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or disagree ?

people tend to spend most of the day at work and everyone expects their time at work place to be productive. While some people seem to prefer the sheer return they get in monetary terms from their work engagements over any other privileges, others look for the deeper satisfaction that good work ambience and fringe benefits can bring to their life. I strongly believe that although salary is an element to be considered, it is only the later that provides us fulfillment and job gratification.

To start with, standard remuneration for a job is often more or less the same if we decide to work in a similar capacity for different organizations. However, our payment can be more if risks and uncertainties borne during performance of our duties is considerably high for a particular assignment. salary is to be considered only as much as our minimum expectations because if the policy of an employer allows for a higher wage to the employees, there are other benefits that get curtailed. A temporary placement on a project financed by donor agencies such as the World bank and the Asian development bank, even though lucrative is less likely to fulfill our job satisfaction needs. salary should not therefore be allowed to act as an allurement.

Moreover, it is exposure to enhanced job experience and other perks of an employment that provides us with true life enrichment. there are many companies which people like to join because of the motivation they get from a good work environment, fair treatment of the employees, medical insurance for themselves and their family and numerous extra benefits apart from the monthly pay. The private sector in the developed countries have particularly grown due to the better privileges their employees get from work. On the other hand, the government positions in the developing countries are seen as more attractive due to the schemes such as pension and loan for education as compared to the private sector which has little concern for even basic facilities of transportaion and accomodation.

In summary, salary can buy us things but not a long-term happiness. we can work with a nominal salary and live joyfully given our emotional and psychological needs are met.