The qualities and skills that a person requires to become successful in today's world cannot be learned at a university or other academic institutions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Universities and academic institutions have been always considered the place to acquire the required competencies which are required to be successful. Some believe due to the fast pace of the today’s world, the system of education at these places is old fashion and cannot provide people what they need, while others including me are strongly against it and believe universities and other academic institutions still are the best places to learn what is needed to achieve the goals in the current world.

In the old-time, universities and other educational institutions were functioning as a place that students learned theoretical knowledge in one specific field and it was what normally was requested from them outside these places. Therefore, it should not surprise us if some based on their perception of universities say people should look outside of the educational system for obtaining required competencies since gig-industry requires a different set of skills and especially needs people with the ability to tasks from different topics and subjects.

Although gig-industry has made the pace fast and is difficult to cope with it as long as using old methods and educational systems, Universities and other educational systems have significantly changed and they moved from teaching just book to a problem-based education. A particular one is Aalborg university where students have to deliver a project in close collaboration each semester. The project is carried out usually by a group of students and they have to deal with tasks from different subjects. Therefore, students upon their graduations are ready to join the market.

To sum up, Although some based on their understanding of the way that universities and other educational systems work claim they are not a place to gain required abilities and merits to be successful in today’s world, others strongly refute this claim and stress on changes that has happened in universities and other educational institutions which keep them as the best place to attain necessary traits.