The qualities and skills that a person requires to become successful in today's world cannot be learned at a university or other academic institutions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The qualities and skills that is needed to reach the peak of success cannot be acquired merely from any university or other academic institutions. Colleges and universities are undoubtedly essential which paves a path for an individual to enhance knowledge but it does not focus on the skills & talents of the individual. I am going to shed some light on the aforementioned aspect and give my vantage point agreeing with the latter.

The education obtained at a university or college certainly distinguishes an individual from the crowd like doctors, pilots, architects, accountants, engineers etc. This sector obviously requires degree & further education to make their mark in the field they choose. Without in-depth knowledge these professionals will not be in a position to do justice to their jobs. The more they study the easier it is for them to reach at a certain level in their lives. However, on the contrary there are many college drop outs today who have become big shots just by focusing on their inner skills and qualities and developing it. The prime example would be of Bill Gates who owns the biggest company Microsoft Corporation and is known to be the wealthiest documented individual in the world. His keen interest in computer programming made him reach the pinnacle of success and not just studies. Citing another example would be Steve jobs who owns Apple and was a college dropout. It is amazing to think how he became a technology genius. It was possible only by paying close attention to their innate qualities & their hard work.

To sum up even though education and degrees are phenomenally important but cannot be the only factor for success. Lot depends on the direction an individual is growing attributing to his or her skills and talents.