In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes which have occured? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Undoubtedly, Family holds a momentous place in every individual life. However, with the advent of urbanisation, family structure and roles of the member have changed in the past years. This essay will discuss the multifarious changes and argue why I surmise this aforementioned changes are negative.

To commence with, In our contemporary society, the size of the members in family has reduced and advances towards becoming nuclear families now. This is because, Youngsters in quest of jobs along with augmenting income, decided to live in big cities leaving their parents alone behind. For instance, Multitude of youngsters left their extended families to pursue their professional life in urban cities like london, Toronto. In addition to this, Women's become the new breadwinners of the family leaving the traditional belief behind that ' A woman place is in the house', moreover, more males are willing to share household chores with their partner and even take on the part of househusband. The family reformations and changing roles of the family members are mainly occurred with the advent of globalisation.

Albeit, it should not be forgotten that aforementioned changes have also some drawbacks associated with it. Firstly, the unrelenting make-up of short families left plethora of old parents stranded. Secondly, there is a considerable surge in prices of properties, flats and construction materials stemmed from the bombardment of the smaller families in urban areas. For example, its become impossible for people, especially less well-off, to buy house in London due to propulsion of nuclear households. Furthermore, I am afraid that infants never able to emphasize love of their grandparents if this trend grows further in future.

Hammering the final nail, I pen down by saying that there are important changes happened in modern world in both structure and family roles and I would argue that these changes are not desirable.