In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development ?

Although it is somtetimes thought that going to shopping centres for shopping is better approach, other people think that this has forced local shops to shutdown their business. In my opinion, this is a positive development as it suits requirement of current Generation.

There are plethora of reasons for encouraging more shopping malls over local shops. Firstly, you can get almost all products in shopping malls. This saves time as buyer is not required to go from one market to another. Secondly, this can help in solving parking and traffic problems faced in crowded markets. For example - In Delhi markets such as chandni chowk or sadar bazar do not have any parking space which makes it very difficult to move in these places.Thirdly, these shopping malls have a lot of entertainment options and especially best suitable for people who needs to shop along with their children or elders.

On the other hand, some people think that going away with local shops is not a good sign. In my personal view, we should concentrate all shops in particular area and use that space for better activities such as constructing park.Most of the cities do not have green area which is resulting in alarming pollution level. Also,as per the latest report by government 30% of the local shops owners are not paying the correct tax amount, whereas shops in shopping mall are very regulated according to government rules and regulations. Moreover, the products available in local market are not of high quality. In addition, it is observed that local markets lacks in cleanliness and basic hygiene.

To conclude, opinions may vary from person to person but I strongly believe that shopping malls have more advantages then local markets. Administration and development authorities should work together to plan this better as it will help to boost our economy.