In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic
development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban
areas but not in the country side. This situation may bring some problems for
the country as a whole.
What are these problems? How might they be reduced?
From the evidence of developing countries all over the world, it seems
inevitable that economic growth is generated in the business and industrial
centers of the major cities. As a result, urban citizens have access to jobs and
facilities that improve their living standards considerably. However, it is
usually the case that these are not equally enjoyed by people in the
countryside and this generates several problems for the countries concerned.
First of all, people from the countryside will try to move to the cities to get
more employment opportunities and better access to facilities available
there. However, this increase in the urban population puts great pressure on
housing and services, and leads to the creation of massive slum areas where
conditions may be lower than standards in the rural villages which are often
left under-populated. This can impact food production and can have severe
affects for people in both urban and rural areas.
Finally, as a country’s economy develops, there may be an increasing sense of
inequality as the towns get richer and the villages get poorer, and this may
lead to more crime and even civil unrest. The key to reducing these problems
seems to lie in improving the standard of living and the facilities available in
the countryside. Perhaps incentives can be offered to factories and
companies to relocate; road and rail networks can be built to make such
relocation possible; doctors and teachers could be required to spend part of
their professional lives in rural areas.
In conclusion, however, improving rural living standards requires investment
and political will that is sometimes not easy to generate.