As a result of deforestation and illegal hunting, many animal species are

becoming endangered and some are even facing extinction. Do you think it is

important to protect animals? What can be done to deal with this problem?

When the dinosaurs and woolly mammoths went extinct, it was considered to be a

natural process or perhaps the result of a natural disaster. These days, however,

many species are on the brink of extinction as a direct result of human activities

including logging and poaching. This essay will discuss why I feel that it is important

to protect animals and suggest two ways to do so.

Animal conservation needs to be a global priority. This is because the loss of one

species can have catastrophic knock-on effects for others and even for entire

ecosystems. Take wolves as an example. Although it may seem counterintuitive, the

presence of this apex predator in the wilderness helps to maintain balance. They prey on sick or weak deer, which helps to keep that population healthier overall, and this predation also controls the number of grazing animals; when they are too abundant, soils can become degraded and other species will suffer. In other words,

preserving one species keeps the entire ecosystem balanced.

When it comes to the prevention of extinction, two strategies can be implemented.

The first is to preserve habitat, which is crucial when it comes to ensuring a species’

long-term viability. To do this, urban sprawl and development in general must be

curbed to reduce deforestation, which is a major cause of species loss. Another

measure involves getting tougher on illegal hunters. If more surveillance was

available in problem areas such as Nepal where tigers are hunted for their organs

and bones, then more hunters could be apprehended. Harsher penalties such as

imprisonment could then serve as a warning to other poachers.

In conclusion, animal extinction can have serious ramifications for the environment.

To prevent it, governments need to both preserve habitat and punish offenders

effectively.