With the rise of e-books comes the decline of the paper books. what are advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Last two decades have seen the greatest booms of the technology, one of which has offered the privilege of having almost all of the books on the mobile devices or computers resulting less use of the paper books. While this latest tendency of reading electronic books has numerous positives, unfortunately, it also comes with its own set of complications. Most significantly these problems can negatively impact our real pleasure of reading and health.

The use of e-books has been swelling day-by-day as compared to physical books due to the fact that one can easily access it and afford it. One only needs to have mobile device with an affordable data package to browse and download any genre of books for free or even a small bit of money. Furthermore, it is the flexibility that offered by online reading gravitate more users to adopt this trend. To cite an example, contemporary generation finds it fascinating to read books on their phones while traveling, saving their precious time and enhancing knowledge. On the contrary, recent studies have shown that despite having more access to books electronically than ever, more people do not feel the real pleasure of reading. What they cannot ignore is their habit of checking social sites for communication while reading online books, resisting them to fully concentrate of reading. Thus, as we rely on the technology for reading in an increasingly global world, we must not lose our idiosyncratic bond with paper books.

There are undeniable benefits of reading electronic terms as it is a way to have sustainable an environment by using less woods to make paper books. It is evident that most of the forests are being cuts for fulfilling the demand of academic, literature, and other genre of books around the globe. Conversely, although usage of e-books have decreased the negative impact on our environment, it effects human health negatively. A static was recently released demonstrating that online reading has increased the sitting in front of computers, effecting nerve system, which further led to stress-related problems among teenagers specially. Therefore, it is advisable to not forget about the negative consequences this trend bring to humanity, and adopting a balanced approach to read e-books and books available in libraries.

Following this look, development of electronic reading represents what is the biggest technological advancement of our age by having easy accessibility and affordability of e-books with environmental sustainability. Even though, this trend has some negative aspects which can be tackled efficiently by implementing a balanced approach to read using both types of books.