Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although schools are investing time in teaching traditional subjects, there are few individuals who opine that they should teach more subjects which help in securing a job. This essay will explain why I agree with the opinion of teaching traditional subjects while I disagree that it should be dominated by subjects which help in landing a job.

Considering firstly the merits of learning traditional subjects for a student in school, an important one to consider is that they enhance the knowledge about past. This is important because a child needs to know about the historical events and contributions made to the society in terms of current culture. For instance, for students of Germany, if they do not study about unification of Germany through history and the battles previous generation citizens have fought, then the pride of being a German will not be alive for the future generations. As a result, the history of a country will remain in shelves of an old library, but not in the hearts of people.

However, I disagree with the idea that they should spend more time developing skills to secure a job. This is because students in school are meant to be exposed to various streams of life such as science, social, mathematics, and other subjects. On their own interest they will choose their career path and for this the school curriculum must not be one dimensional by just teaching subjects which provides employment. To illustrate, if a student is forced to study to work in an Information Technology company, then the zeal to work does not exists. As a result, the quality of workers in the organizations will drop substantially.

In conclusion, from my perspective, teaching subjects like arts and history will improve the knowledge about past events in the world, whereas, other core subjects should be taught, but must be the choice of students.