Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, incarceration has aroused considerable public debate about its effectiveness. Although many people have considered it as one of the primary forms of punishment for offenders, I advocate the view that providing education and job training is a better way.

There is no denying that imprisoning criminals, particularly, ones who convicted of felonies, can ensure the safety of the society and act as a deterrent to would-be criminals. However, in the long-term, this practice shows some demerits. First, to maintain and run all the jails, the government needs to invest a large amount of money in facilities and security, which triggers some financial burdens to the national budget, specially, in developing countries Second, still there is a high chance of re-offence after offenders are released. In fact, due to the hatred caused by being condemned in confinements, along with meeting the others those are like-minded, dangerous criminal gangs can be formed within prisons, which heightens the recidivism rates and harms the society in the future.

From my perspective, poverty and the lack of education are underlying causes of delinquency, so offering education and vocational training is the best method in attempt to help offenders become better citizens. By enlightening criminals, education plays an important role in changing their attitude and helping them distinguish between right and wrong, the chance of re-offence will be possibly reduced. More importantly, many convicts will have opportunity to achieve normal career after being free, thanks to job training programs. That means, they can make a living and have a normal life, with no reason to do evil deeds again.

In conclusion, to deal with wrong doers, I believe that the government should provide them with education and occupational skills training in lieu of using imprisonment.