Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity However some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects Why is shopping so popular What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society

Shopping is becoming increasingly common as a leisure activity but some people believe that this has advantages and disadvantages. This essay will argue that shopping has become popular because men and women consider it as a mind relaxing activity and this will cause a person to spend more money and to increase the quality of life by paying more taxes.

Nowadays, people have a busy lifestyle due to various reasons such as work and personal commitments. Because of that humans always tend to find some regular activities that they can release their streets. That is why, in the current contest, shopping has become very popular. For example, Keells is a famous supermarket chain in Sri Lanka and they facilitate their customers to buy daily essentials through their website but still, a lot of walk-in customers are seen at the stores.

Even though shopping is popular as a leisure activity, it can create some negative impact on a person’s economy. Someone continues to do shopping more regularly is that he or she spending more money running out of salary for even some unwanted things. On the other hand, shopping creates a positive impact on society. The increased shopping makes taxpayers pay more taxes where governments can increase the services to the public. This would create a better lifestyle. For example, most western countries have a better quality of life due to more taxpayers.

In conclusion, often people consider shopping as a leisure activity and that is the reason that shopping is popular. It also causes some negative impact on individuals to spend more money and increasing the quality of life by paying more taxes.