Shopping is the favorite pastime for most of the young people.

Why do you think is that?

Do you think they should be encouraged to do some useful activities in their free time?

It is commonly known that shopping is the most preferable activity among the vast majority of youth. This essay will explore the factors behind this approach and will detail why I believe that youngsters should be guided towards other beneficial hobbies.

To begin with, one vital reason why young people are obsessed by shopping is that they are usually tempted by the media. This is extremely influential because advertisements have become immensely creative and often performed by celebrities; causing adolescents to be attracted to purchase products that they might not need. For instance, a survey by BBC news has shown a record rise in the sales of products that are being advertised by famous figures; such as, football players, actors and. Another significant reason for this rise in popularity in terms of shopping is the fast growing development of products, particularly in the electronic field. Whereas teens are usually keen on the last updates of electronic devices, more shopping is being done by the individuals of this age category seeking the last versions of mobiles, laptops, tablets and other forms of electronic devices.

Nevertheless, I do believe that excessive shopping is an extremely unhealthy behavior and that some measures should be taken to motivate teenagers to participate in other useful activities. This is important because purchasing unnecessary good not only is a waste of money but also is a sort of addiction that needs to be managed. To make matter worse, the more the items owned by an individual, the less the appreciation they would have for these stuff. Accordingly, parents should encourage their youngsters to engage in sports which will provide them with enormous physical, mental and psychological merits. Moreover, volunteer work can be a prominent channel through which adolescents could acquire more appreciation to the world and possess wider horizons.

In conclusion, smart media and famous characters’ involvement in advertising are two obvious causes why young people are becoming fans of shopping. However, while many drawbacks might come with this trend, teens should be engaged in sports and volunteering to improve their skills on almost all levels.