Should young people follow older people’s advice or is it good for them to challenge older people’s opinions and thoughts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether or not, young generation should follow the steps of the older people is a debatable topic at present. While conservatives believe that teenagers should stick to the old traditions and values, Progressives support to challenge the old notions.

In this essay, I shall be discussing both the views as well as shading some light on my own opinion.

To begin with, some people take the saying “Old is Gold” quite literally. They believe that the old traditions and values should be followed, as they are irreplaceable. For instance, aged people believe in savings. They follow the thought that one should only spent the portion of the money, which is left after his/her pre-planned saving plans.

In addition to this, they also believe in simple living and high thinking. Showing off is not really their cup of tea.

In my opinion, these ideas are great and should be followed, as they are beneficial for the current generation. Moreover, these values help us become financially strong as well as shape us into a better individual.

On the other hand, there are few ancient concepts which are harmful for the society which should be challenged. For instance, Fe people still consider the idea that one should get married at the age of between 18-20. This tradition does not fit in well in the current society since young generation aspire different choices and aims nowadays. Some choose to go for higher studies at this age while others choose to follow their passion. Hence, this old notion should be questioned, as it will ruin the dreams of many.

To add, Many elderly people support the dowry system which is unhealthy for the society in every possible way and should be vanished from the society.

To conclude, As per the aforesaid, there are few advices by the old people which should be followed such as savings and living life in simple manner but at the same time few reckless traditions like early marriage and dowry should be completely vanished.