Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking as has been scientifically proven can have a devastating effect on the health of the human being. As a result, people believe that smoking should be banned in public places. Although there are arguments on both the side however I staunchly agree that smoking should be completely banned as it has strong ramifications on the health of individuals and near ones.

To elucidate opponents of the ban argue that passive smokers make a choice when they go near smoking zones where smoking is allowed. If they prefer not to smoke then they need not to go to places where smoking is permitted. Additionally, they also argue that a ban would possibly drive bars and clubs out of business as smokers would not prefer to go there. Furthermore, the most common argument is that smoking is not against the law hence it an individual’s choice to smoke or not.

Secondly, there are more convincing arguments in favour of the ban. Firstly cigarette has large amounts of carcinogenic compounds which can cause serious health issues like respiratory problems and cancer to not only to the smoker but nearby people too. Anyone nearby can develop cancers of lung, mouth and respiratory problems, therefore, it would not be fair to impose this upon another person. In any case, people health is more important than businesses as pubs and clubs could adapt to a ban by allowing designated smoking areas.

To conclude it can be seen from the above arguments that smoking causes health problems hence, in my opinion, it should be completely banned from public places which will further help in improving the health of thousands of individuals.