Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantageous and disadvantageous of solar energy?

Demand for the power is on surge all over the world irrespective of its source of supply, however, interest on renewable energy, particularly, geothermal is rising in the household. While the reasons for this drastic change has several theories.Whereas this form of energy has numerous merits and demerits which will be enumerated in this essay.

To embark with, the inclination of most of the countries towards renewable energy, especially, solar is due to that fact that it is cheap and efficient. What I mean to say that energy generation is free of cost and reliable. For instance, in India, all southern states are mostly dependent on solar energy as its sunny profoundly and energy generation is hassle-free.

Although renewable energy is the most preferable form there are some pros and cons associated with them. One of the main positive perspectives of solar energy is global warming can be reduced to a greater extent possible. In other words, no fossil fuels are necessary to produce renewable energy and consequently which halts a release of toxic gases into the atmosphere. Another reason could be, it will aid in maintaining balance in the ecosystem. This is to say for thermal plants, for instance, produce radioisotopes like cadmium, lead, and mercury which is hazardous to marine life and ultimately imbalances ecosystem and lead to dire consequences.

On the flip side, there exist various disadvantages too. Firstly, the manufacturing and installation of solar panels is a tedious and hectic process. This requires skilled labor and sophisticated equipment which is expensive. Secondly, vast space is required to build the panels. With the current pace of population hike all over the world, the cost, availability, and acquisition of land are arduous. Having said that, Governments should spend the majority of public money on this excluding serious problems like poverty which is unacceptable to society.

All summed up, I recapitulate that demand for renewable energy is on high demand in major countries across the world due to the fact that it is efficient and effective. Furthermore, geothermal energy has advantages like the decline in global warming and balancing ecosystem, in spite of some demerits such as space constraints and cost of solar panels.