To solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

It is undeniable that traffic has surged in recent times, and is one of the global concern which needs to be taken care of. Many of the significant cities face congestion issues during peak hours. Research shows that metro cities like Mumbai, New Delhi, Bangalore, etc., in India; the traffic problems are detrimental to the city's development. To overcome this, people opine that authorities should levy a hefty tax on private car owners and use that money to develop public transport infrastructure; the pros and cons are discussed in the further paragraphs.

Increasing the tax on private cars will decline the number of self-owned vehicles on the road. The affordability criteria will increase, resulting in less sale of the cars. Furthermore, the green-house emission will also eliminate caused due to these vehicles, thereby reducing the city's pollution. Also, road accidents will reduce. Also, public transport utilisation will increase; forcing the government to develop better infrastructure.

Nevertheless, there are lakhs of people who might get jobbles. The daily livelihood of many drivers in India is depended on driving private vehicles. Moreover, it is time-consuming to commute via public transport. Many business people prefer working during there travel time, for better productivity. The people travelling in different cities for work purpose might find it difficult to depend on public transport. As well, the safety concerns are taken into consideration, private vehicles are much better option when compared to mass transit.

To sum up, the authorities must develop the infrastructure, making it feasible for the population to use the commuting service and pursuing the masses by educating them about the benefits of using public transit.