In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

In developed countries, taxes which are paid by people is the significant sources of income for the government. One of the way to raise fund for infrastructure projects, particularly public transportation would be charged taxes substantially the private owned vehicle. This policy have positive and negative impacts on life of inhabitants. In this essay, I will outline both outcome if taxes charge car owners in detail.

Enhancing public transportation for inhabitants in big cities have different merits. First, if it is accessible it would reduce the cost of transportation. Own a car has lot of hidden cost in big cities and the car need to maintain properly to give a good ride. Instead using public transport is just only need to charge one card monthly or annually. For instance, in japan more people tend to use public transport because it is cheap and convenient. Besides, more people force to walk during the day. In this way, it would effect on body health. One study indicate that more Japanese are in well-shaped because they walk at least twenty minutes during the day which is incomparable with inhabitant in western society. There so, the better life style will be occurred if public transport develop.

On the other hand, there are some downside exist if government put taxes on private car owners. Firstly, the people choice for mode of transportation will be reduced. In North America, the distances are far more than other continents. So people tend to have their own cars to commute. Besides, some big family usually go to the trip by their own. Because they let them freedom to stop wherever they want. Also in some cases it is much cheaper than other mode transportation. Even if the gasoline is not chip still when the big families want to go abroad it would much more easily for them to bear the cost of vehicle instead of using airplane.

In sum, improvement in public transport would facilitate life for many inhabitants in terms of cost of living, and in the long run better physical healthcare. Unlike this merits, freedom of people to choose their own preferences will be reduced and even for some families going to the trip become impossible.