Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Some corporation make their employees wear uniforms when they are at the workplace. There are some merits to this policy such as presenting a united front. However, in my opinion the disadvantages of this regulation outweigh its benefits since it restricts the workforce choice of clothing and make them feel stripped of their rights.

On the one hand, provided with similar working attire, individuals do not need to worry themselves about whether their dresses or shirts comply with company's dress code or not. In addition, it eliminates the potential competition that may arise between colleagues to show off their taste in fashion. From the company's perspective, it is imperative to present a professional image to their customers who are more likely to remember the corporation which has its own brand even when it comes to clothing. For example, the first thing that comes to everyone's mind while thinking about airline companies is the flight attendants in their fashionable attires.

On the other hand, uniforms are usually uncomfortable and not colorful enough. Especially, after sometime, employees start to feel bored being forced to wear the same color and model day in, day out as it is in human nature to admire variety and be adventurous. Studies show that in firms with a mandatory uniform policy, staff are more depressed and there is higher possibility that they leave their jobs. Furthermore, they tend to be more aggressive towards clients, because of their low tolerance, which may lead to troublesome incidents that in turn damage the company's credibility. As a result, I strongly believe that it is best for both the well-being of the workforce and company's image to let individuals pick their own clothing as long as it conforms with company's dress code.

In conclusion, although it is understandable why some companies insist on forcing similar clothing on their employees to build an image, as explained above taking such measure puts extra strain on human resources and can have catastrophic consequences. Thus, it is advisable to not take away staff choice in what they want to wear at work.