Some companies sponsor sport as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantagesDiscuss both views and give your opinion

Advertising is modern art and key part of modern business. Some multi national companies sponsor sports events in order to advertise their products. Some individuals have positive opinions and others believe that there are certain downsides to this. In my opinion, when companies sponsor sports events it is more advantageous for them and sports.

To begin with, the most obvious advantage is that companies can tell us about their products, without it we have fewer choices. For instance, most of the people know about Nike and Adidas on the television adverts. Furthermore, players can focus on sports instead of being distracted by financial worries. If players feel financially secured and maintain professional sports to be high quality and great entertainment. To illustrate, if a major company sponsor an event,it is much likely to get prime television coverage, which bringing in greater advertising revenue and exposing more people to the sports. This will in bring more fans, improve the profitability of sports club, which helps the economy and receive the community spirit when team performing well. Advertising is a creative industry that employs many people, without it there will be higher unemployment.

On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks to this. It may deflect the attention of people from sports to products. i addition when adds are shown during the sporting event, it dampen the spirit and enthusiasm of the spectators. Apart from this, sports players nowadays have been involved in illegal activities, because of it sports are not true medium for promotion. For example, many cricket players facing legal chargers for taking bribes from gamblers. Some people argue that spending money on sports events, country is just wasting the money it can be utilized to fulfill the basic needs like food, education and health.

To summarise , even though product adverts have some demerits, but is beneficial for both multi national companies and sports events, promoted to great extent