In some countries employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacation time each year. In other countries employers are given four or six weeks of paid vacation time.

Considering the need of both employee and employer, what do you think is a reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Notwithstanding the fact that vacation whether paid/unpaid is mandatory for any empoyee to maintain a proper work-life balance, the vacation period is dependent on the kind of job profile and the type of industry/organizaton. In my opinion, the holiday in general can be categorised based on the personal requirements of the employee and the duration thus can be alloted on the category of the leave, which might provide a clarity on the leave status and also the personal preferences of both the employer and the employee.

I belive the leave calander of the employee to be subcategorised for medical emergencies, personal vacations and open/general/miscellaneous. The total duration can be between two - six weeks maximun, depending on the type. if it was a critical hospitalization , the employee might avail a longer duration, however, if it was a general sickness, less than a week might suffice. The family vacations might require one - four weeks depending on the location of the employee's resident status. if the employee is staying outside his hometown , he might avail larger holiday pack despite a local resident. Furthermore, if a family member falls sick or there is some criticality with any of the employee's aquaintances, the leave period might be unpredictable even for the one who has to request for from the employer. In such a situation, he/she might consider the miscellaneous leave option, and in case the leave period exceeds more than the dedicated number, the employees should be able to have the flexibility to compensate the same on week ends and extra hours during weekdays than a cutoff in their monthly salary.

Also, the type of industry/organization might require a varied paid leave cuttoffs , which means heavy duty/production scale employees, who invest more of physical work should be able to utilize an extra weeks' holiday albiet the desktop employees. that doesn't mean the white collar jobs are to be under considered than blue collar jobs. I would like to stress on the physical rest requirements that the manual work employees needed.

The employee will be able to contribute significantly only when he/she feels comfortable and satisfactory at workplace. The organization's policies towards its subordinates, is the key indicator on the employee's performance towards the organization. The leave duration paid/unpaid cannot be decided in number , because the leave period requirement is orthogonal and is quite unpredictable, however flexibility on the period and the category might enhace the employee-employer coordination and performance at workplace.