In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, many domestic companies and even international corporations are encouraged to move their offices to rural areas outside the major cities. This essay argues that despite this helps to solve the housing problem in large and crowded cities, the substantially high cost to carry out far outweighs the advantages.

Moving businesses to regional areas is a good idea to address the lack of accommodations in modern cities. Due to a huge immigration stream from the countryside to seek for better job opportunities, many metropolia are now facing an extreme shortage of houses and buildings to sufficiently accommodate immigrants. Thus, relocating industries to rural areas will free up some amount of space in big cities for residential areas and solve the housing problem. For example, Ho Chi Minh City can now accommodate all of its residents thanks to companies moving their offices to nearby provinces. However, it will take a large sum of money if business owners decide to do this.

A major drawback when corporations opt to re-establish their offices and factories in other regions is the substantial cost they need to cover. Compared to the capital that companies initially invested in their current properties, the cost to relocate can be twofold or more because they will also have to pay for the traveling cost of their employees. For instance, Cocacola announced that it costed the company 500 million dollars to relocate its entire chain of factories to Binh Duong province and 100 million every month for its workers’ transportation. This essay believes that this major disadvantage will stop most corporations to move outside of big cities.

In conclusion, despite that the housing problem can be tackled, money is the biggest obstacle to move industries and businesses to regional areas and this drawback definitely outweighs the advantages.