In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree wi

Food habits constitute an important part of our daily routine and play a vital role in ensuring good health. However, recent proliferation of fast food into our daily food habits has increased the risk of developing health problems like obesity, loss of immunity. One among four people in USA suffer from obesity due to ready availability of fast food. Although government steps to limit fast food through increased taxes look promising, I believe that this is not the most effective way to control health hazards caused by junk food.

Consider India. Although heavy taxes have already been levied on hotel chains that serve fast food, it has not produced the desired results as the tempting benifits fast foods offer outweighs the expenses. The most important reason for governments failing to control this hazard is lack of public awareness. It is possible to reduce health risks of fast food consumption by spreading awareness among the people regarding the ill effects of junk food. Some initiatives taken by US government to display calorie count of fast foods are worth mentioning here.

Other factors like unhygenic conditions under which the food is prepared also needs to be checked. this is all the more important in countries where bulk of the junk food chains operate at lower levels. It is highly difficult to impose tax on street vendors and even after the revisions, people are likely to consume such food. Need for looking at other possible means to arrest the rampant growth of fast food is paramount to current conditions.

However, increased taxes on pizzas, chats, and other fast food are not completely useless. It can still persuade people to rethink their eating habits and switch to healthier diets. But the effectiveness of this initiative only act as additions to government policies and not as necessary measures. An increase in cost of junk food is less likely to make a common man switch to healthy foods as the latter is equally expensive.

What matters more is that the public needs to be aware about the effect of these food habits on their lifestyle. the government should therefore take necessary steps in this direction and only switch to imposing more tax after all the other efforts fail to yield desired results. After all, spreading awareness is a long term solution that has historically proven itself compared to short term plans that cease to help in the long run.