In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food? To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence

It is unfortunate that health issues among people have grown in many parts of the world in the last few years. So some people believe that the result of too much fast food is the main reason for the increasing number of health problems and it is necessary to impose a higher tax on this type of foods. In my opinion, I completely disagree that this is the best way to tackle the issue of deteriorating public health in relation to fast foods because it will deter only the middle and low-income group only.

To embark on, imposing a higher tax will make food unaffordable to poor people. Indigent people are not able to afford cooking materials and also don’t have the place to cook. They live on the mercy of fast foods only. Furthermore, nowadays, more people are job oriented and hardly get time to cook food due to their hectic work schedule. In one of the current survey in India, it is found that many working people inclining towards fast food in recent years. However, taxes will not discourage affluent customers from buying fast food. So, only average customers will be affected by increasing tax.

To recapitulate it, fast foods are easy to cook and can be ready in a matter of minutes. On the other hand, it takes much time to prepare traditional food. In today’s busy world, fast food is the best to satiate our hunger because to prepare, people don’t require much knowledge of cooking. For example, many youngsters prefer snacks and readymade food like Maggie while they are away from the native country. In One of the recent study in Hongkong, people revealed that they are compelled to buy fast foods because of their busy schedule even though they are aware of the health problems. Most people are consuming fast foods because healthier alternatives are not easily available.

To conclude, increasing tax on fast food will deter low-level income groups to buying it and will impact on daily life schedule. If the government really wants to control the fast food then steps should be taken to make healthier foods easily available and reasonable prices.